Over The Weekend

I had been a little concerned that not much other than greens would grow in my back yard. I got a little boost by a post here that listed a bunch of things one can grow in six inch pots. The sunniest part of my property is the driveway which I don’t want to dig up. Over the weekend I got a half yard of sand and mixed a huge heap of sand, top soil and compost and filled somewhere around 60 to 80 pots and planted two types of beans and one type of peas. In some larger posts I also transplanted some peppers. Then I built a gate to go from my house, accross the driveway and connected to my neighbor’s privacy fence. This blocks the unsightly potted plants. The driveway is an old shell driveway (to the horror of environmentalists, at one time driveways and roads were paved by seashells dredged from the gulf) that is prone to weeds coming through so I picked up two trailer loads of leaves to mulch the part of the driveway where the pots will be.

Published in: on April 6, 2009 at 5:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://eneal.wordpress.com/2009/04/06/over-the-weekend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

